Skip to main content

QAHE – Business UR Library Guide

The University of Roehampton’s LibGuide for QA. This guide provides information on Library and IT resources for students and staff.

Resources

Databases are large, searchable collections of academic materials. Many provide access to full-text journal articles, whilst others provide article abstracts/citations or other types of information. Databases are useful because they provide access to high-quality, authoritive and up-to-date research in your subject area. 

To access Roehampton’s online databases you will be required to authenticate access. Almost all of our resources use a system called OpenAthens to enable you to login.

It is always best to use the database links provided in this guide rather than searching for databases on the Internet, as the links in this guide will direct you straight to the University of Roehampton's login page where you can enter your Roehampton username and password to enter the database.

If you experience any problems accessing the online databases or ebooks please refer to the 'Access instructions for databases and ebooks' pdf below. 

Physical copies of each textbook for your module readings should be made available via your institution's library. For printed books, please use your campus library in Birmingham, London (Rosebery Avenue) or Manchester. To search for those books, use the library catalogue.

For ebooks, you can use both your campus library (VLeBooks) and the UR library DawsonEra ebooks collection -see link below.

For VLeBooks, use qa + student number (e.g. qas00054321) for the username and Qa + your DOB eight digits (e.g. Qa01121984) for the password; use qahigher for the Organisation ID if required. To manage your library account, you can download the myCirqa app for iPhones and Android devices. To login, search for Roehampton, choose your campus (Birmingham, London or Manchester), then use your students number for the ID and your date of birth (DDMMYY) – for the PIN.

If you experience problems accessing VLeBooks this may be caused by your browser (Chrome, Mozilla, Safari or similar) storing your University of Roehampton login used for accessing academic databases. The easiest way to resolve this is to use a different browser for accessing ebooks at www.vlebooks.com. Copy this address to the address bar of another browser, for example, Internet Explorer or Edge, or any other (Chrome, Mozilla, Safari etc.) different to the one you have been using so far. If you experience any other problems accessing VLeBooks please refer to the 'VLeBooks access guide' PDF below.

 

For DawsonEra ebooks use your UR login. If you experience any problems accessing the online databases or ebooks please refer to the 'Access instructions for databases and ebooks' pdf below. 

 

Referencing Styles

The main referencing styles used at UR are listed below. Please note: there is no standard style of Harvard referencing, every university/institution has their own version. In addition, online reference generators such as Mendeley, Zotero, etc. will also contain a different version of Harvard, so please be aware. 

If you are unsure which referencing style to use please check with your tutors.

RefWorks is reference management software that allows you to:

  • Save references from sources such as ejournals, databases, library catalogues and websites
  • Compile your own database of references
  • Insert correctly formatted citations into your documents
  • Automatically generate bibliographies and lists of works cited

RefWorks can be used anywhere via the internet. It is funded by the Library and is free to Roehampton students.

 

 

Getting Started with RefWorks​

​Anyone at the University of Roehampton can create an account in RefWorks. To do this:

1. Go to http://refworks.proquest.com and click the “sign up” link.
2. Fill in your information making sure to use your University of Roehampton email address (you will not be able to sign up with a personal email address)
3. You will receive an email with a link to complete the registration process and activate your account
 
Once you activate your account you’ll get access immediately and can get started adding and managing your references.​
 
Migrating exisiting references into RefWorks
Users of the old version of Refworks can import their references into new version of RefWorks.
Loading ...